• Habinteg's Hibernia St offices are now permanently closed. For more information click here.
  • Use the accessibility features of the Reachdesk toolbar. For more information click here.
  • We are a JAM Card friendly business. For more information click here.

Equality Matters

We are committed to treating all our customers (and staff members) fairly and to promoting good relations. We are opposed to all forms of unlawful and unfair discrimination.

Equality Duty

Habinteg is designated as a public authority for the purposes of Equality in accordance with Section 75 of the Northern Ireland Act 1998. This became effective on 8 October 2004. We have continued to embrace our statutory duty as core to our business and produce a comprehensive Equality Scheme and we are committed to fulfilling our responsibilities under Section 75 of the Northern Ireland Act 1998.

Implementation of the Habinteg Equality Scheme impacts on each Habinteg employee, including how we do our jobs and how we conduct ourselves in our daily business; it affects how we relate to customers and to our colleagues. Awareness-raising of this key initiative is ongoing and all staff are made aware of key equality issues, particularly the nine main equality categories listed below. Where relevant, staff are trained on key aspects in relation to the Equality Duty and Policy review and development is greatly influenced by the requirements of the Section 75 Duty.

Section 75 requires us, in carrying out our functions, powers and duties, to have due regard to the need to promote equality of opportunity:

  • between persons of different religious belief, political opinion, racial group, age, marital status or sexual orientation
  • between men and women generally
  • between persons with a disability and persons without
  • between persons with dependants and persons without.

In addition, without prejudice to its obligations above, the Act requires that we have regard to the desirability of promoting good relations between persons of different religious belief, political opinion or racial group.

Equality considerations are central to our policy processes. The main aim of Section 75 is to make sure that equality is at the core of everything we do. 

Have a question? Click here to get in touch!